2BrightSparks

Default Settings in SyncBack

Author: Michael J. Leaver, 2BrightSparks Pte. Ltd.

Profiles in SyncBack are highly configurable with a large number of settings available. SyncBack includes features to help manage the settings, e.g. shared settings, copying settings from another profile and variables. Another method is default settings, which we'll discuss in this article.

Defaults

In SyncBack, profile defaults are the settings used when creating a new profile. Each profile settings page has its own set of defaults and there can only be one set of defaults. Defaults are available in SyncBackPro, SyncBackSE and SyncBackFree. When creating or modifying a profile you can save and load defaults via the burger menu Burger Menu at the top-left of the window.

For example, you may want all new profiles to be password protected. To do this, you would create a new profile, go to the Misc. settings page, set the password and then choose Burger Menu -> Save as defaults. Now, whenever a new profile is created it will be automatically password protected from modification or deletion. Just don't forget your password!

Factory Settings

Defaults are not to be confused with factory settings. When selecting Revert to factory settings it will remove all the settings on the page which forces the default settings to be used. There are exceptions to this, e.g. on the Simple settings page the source/left and destination/right paths are not changed when reverting to factory settings.

If you want to stop using the defaults on a profile settings page you can revert the factory settings and then save them as the defaults.

Copying Settings From Another Profile

As an alternative to defaults, you can copy settings from another profile. When creating or modifying a profile you can do this via the burger menu Burger Menu at the top-left of the window. It will only copy the settings for the settings page you are on. If you want to copy all the settings for a profile then you can simply copy the profile in the main window.

Conclusion

Defaults are a convenient and simple way to ensure your profiles are created using the settings you want, every time.

Noted Customers

© 2003-2022 2BrightSparks Pte. Ltd.  | Home | Support | Privacy | Terms | Affiliate Program

Home | Support | Privacy | Terms
© 2003-2022 2BrightSparks Pte. Ltd.

Back to top