Burger Menu and Preferences Menu

<< Click to Display Table of Contents >>

Navigation:  Using SyncBackPro > Basic Operation >

Burger Menu and Preferences Menu

 

This page describes two menus in the main window: the burger menu (the icon at the left of the menu bar) and the Preferences menu (on the menu bar).

 

 

Burger Menu

 

At the top-left of the main window is a burger menu burger, which when clicked, shows more options:

 

main-burger-menu

 

 

Global Settings

 

This opens a window where you can change settings that apply to the entire program. See this page of the help file for more details.

 

 

Dialogs

 

This opens a window where you can change which dialog boxes appear. See this page of the help file for more details.

 

 

Scripts

 

This opens a window where you can extend the abilities of SyncBackPro by using scripts. See this page of the help file for more details.

 

 

Comparison Programs

 

This opens a window where you can change which programs are used in the Differences window to compare the contents of files. See this page of the help file for more details.

 

 

Management Service Settings

 

See the SyncBack Management Service help page for more details.

 

 

Windows Shell Extension Settings

 

See the Windows Shell Extension help page for more details.

 

 

Linked Cloud Accounts

 

See the Linked Cloud Accounts help page for more details.

 

 

Shared Settings

 

See the Shared Settings help page for more details.

 

 

 

Password Backup

 

Lists the encryption passwords and profile passwords used by your profiles, so that you can make your own copy of them and be reminded to keep it. This is an Insider Access feature. See the Password Backup help page for more details.

 

 

Secrets Manager

 

See the Secrets Manager help page for more details.

 

 

Language

 

The language used can be changed using this menu. Note that only the translated languages installed are listed. By default the language selected during installation is used.

 

 

Styles

 

You can choose the style SyncBackPro should use. The default style depends on the version of Windows being used, but you are free to change it at any time. If you choose the Windows style then the standard Windows interface style is used, e.g. no Help button in the Window caption.

 

If you are using a screen reader, or a remote desktop connection (RDP), then the styles menu is not available and the default Windows style will be used automatically. Styles are not supported over remote connections. To stop using a screen reader, enable the option Stop using screen reader in the Preferences menu. Note that this menu item is only visible if a screen reader has been detected.

 

Use colour images is available only when a dark style is being used, e.g. Windows 11 Modern Dark. When enabled, colour images will be used with a dark style instead of the default monochrome images.

 

 

 

Preferences Menu

 

The Preferences menu is on the main window's menu bar, between View and Help. It is not part of the burger menu. When clicked, it shows these options:

 

preferences

 

 

•Only show groups and profiles not in a group: If unticked then all profiles and groups are listed in the main window. If the option is ticked then the top level list of profiles will not include profiles that are part of a group or groups that are in other groups. The top level list will only show profiles that are not in any group, and groups that are not in any other group. Ticking this option helps unclutter the list.

 

•Output Debug Information: If this item is ticked (enabled) then when profiles are run, or profiles modified, debug files are created. These debug files contain detailed information that allows 2BrightSparks to pin-point any errors or problems with the program (it is used by the Technical Support Wizard). By default this item should not be ticked. Only tick this menu item when instructed to do so by 2BrightSparks technical support. When enabled it can significantly reduce performance. You can enable flushing by enabling the option Flush the debug log (available only when Output Debug Information is ticked). Flushing ensures all debug output is written to the disk immediately and not cached.

 

•Hide The Button Panel: If this menu item is ticked (enabled) then the button panel is hidden. To change where the button panel is displayed then right-click on it and choose from the pop-up menu.

 

•Minimize On Close: If this item is ticked then SyncBackPro will minimize instead of closing (exiting) when the Close button (the X button in the applications title bar) is clicked. In this case you must click the Exit button to close SyncBackPro.

 

•Minimize On Run: If this item is ticked SyncBackPro will minimize automatically when a profile is run.

 

•Disable Hibernate/Standby: If this item is ticked then SyncBackPro will stop your computer from hibernating or going into standby power saving modes if any profiles are running. If your computer is not on mains power (e.g. using batteries) this option is disabled and cannot be used. Note that if battery saver is enabled in Windows, SyncBackPro will automatically pause all running profiles and display a warning message. SyncBackPro can put your computer into hibernate or standby mode after profiles are run. For more information, see the page Command Line Parameters.

 

•Do not auto-pause profiles when computer is suspended: If this item is ticked then SyncBackPro will not automatically pause all the profiles when the computer is suspended, goes into battery saver mode or switches to UPS power. After the computer is woken, switches to mains power from UPS, or stops using battery saver mode, it will automatically resume the profiles that were paused. See the Power Management section for more details.

 

•When all profiles end: You can choose what SyncBackPro should do when the currently running profiles finish. This can be useful, for example, if you need to leave the office and a long running profile is currently running. The options are:

 

IMPORTANT: For it to work, you must make sure the Do Nothing entry is unticked. This allows you to make changes without it being used until Do Nothing is unticked.

 

oShutdown: The computer is shutdown.

oExit: SyncBackPro exits.

oLogout: You are logged out of Windows.

oReboot: The computer is rebooted.

oStandby: The computer goes to sleep. The system remains powered on, but at a minimal level.

oHibernate: The computer goes into a deep sleep. The CPU, drives, display, and most internal components power down or enter ultra-low-power states.

oRun: A program is started (you can choose the program) and SyncBackPro will then exit without waiting for the selected program to end.

 

•Minimize To Tray: If this item is ticked then SyncBackPro will minimize to the system tray (taskbar corner) instead of to the task bar.

 

•Hot-tracking: If this item is ticked then SyncBackPro will use hot-tracking on the Main window, the Sub-directories & Files window and the Differences window. Hot-tracking is where the item the mouse is over is highlighted. The default is not to use hot-tracking.

 

•Horizontal Lines: If this item is ticked then SyncBackPro will show horizontal lines in the Main window, the Sub-directories & Files window and the Differences window. The default is to show horizontal lines.

 

•Vertical Lines: If this item is ticked then SyncBackPro will show vertical lines in the Main window, the Sub-directories & Files window and the Differences window. The default is not to show vertical lines.

 

•Stop using screen reader: This menu item is only visible if SyncBack detects a screen reader is being used. When a screen reader is being used then the Style menu item is not available. Untick this entry to tell SyncBack you are not using a screen reader.

 

•Open .sps, .sbs files with SyncBackPro: Makes this copy of SyncBackPro the program that opens exported profiles (.sps files) and script packages (.sbs files), and registers the syncback:// link handler. SyncBackPro sets this up automatically when it starts if no other program has claimed these file types, so this item is only available (not greyed out) when another program has taken them over, or the link handler is missing. It is not available when SyncBackPro is run from an external drive.

 

 

 

All Content: 2BrightSparks Pte Ltd © 2003-2026