Copy/Delete, Network

<< Click to Display Table of Contents >>

Navigation:  Using SyncBackPro > Expert Mode >

Copy/Delete, Network

Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

 

Silently fail if source/left cannot be reached through the network, drive does not exist, or there is no disk: When enabled, and the source/left drive cannot be accessed, then the profile will silently fail when run. No log file will be produced, and no failure result will be recorded. This option is useful when you have a profile scheduled to run periodically but are not always connected to the source/left.

 

Silently fail if destination/right cannot be reached through the network, drive does not exist, or there is no disk: When enabled, and the destination/right drive cannot be accessed, then the profile will silently fail when run. No log file will be produced, and no failure result will be recorded. This option is useful when you have a profile scheduled to run periodically but are not always connected to the destination/right, e.g. you backup to a network drive via a wireless network connection. If the destination is an email server, FTP server, or a cloud service, then SyncBack will attempt to connect to the server (at the relevant address and port) to see if it can be accessed. In previous versions a ping was used instead, but often pings are blocked by routers and firewalls.

 

If possible resume a broken file transfer when a profile is re-started (may slow profile): This option is only available when using FTP or normal file systems. When enabled, if a profile stops because the network connection is lost, for example, and a file transfer is in progress, then when the profile is next run it will attempt to resume the upload/download. If FTP is being used then the FTP server must support the resume feature. Note that when copying files across Windows networks then enabling this option can slow down file copying, therefore it is only recommended enabling this option if very large files are being copied across a network and there is a chance the connection will be broken. If a profile is aborted then no attempt will be made to resume a file transfer.

 

Limit bandwidth usage to...: If a value above zero is entered then when copying files the bandwidth usage is limited to what is specified (kilobytes per second). Note that there are some cases where the bandwidth usage cannot be limited, e.g. when using compression. Note that this bandwidth is used even when copying files to internal or external drives, as well as to other computers or NAS devices. There is a separate setting to limit the FTP bandwidth usage on the FTP, Advanced page and also one for the Cloud.

 

 

All Content: 2BrightSparks Pte Ltd © 2003-2019