Copy/Delete, Warning

<< Click to Display Table of Contents >>

Navigation:  Using SyncBackPro > Expert Mode >

Copy/Delete, Warning

Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

 

Expert Mode: Copy/Delete, Warning

 

Define if SyncBackPro will warn about certain file actions, e.g. deletion of too many files. These settings can help avoid cases where something has gone wrong and so the profile should not be run.

 

Warn me (abort profile if unattended) if 100% or more of my files are going to be deleted due to my settings : In some situations you may have wrongly configured your profile or made a mistake. For example, you may have set the source folder incorrectly to an empty folder and configured your profile to delete all files in the destination that are only in the destination. In this case when you run the profile all your destination files would be deleted. This setting is to avoid situations like this. You may also want to make sure that no files are going to be deleted. If SyncBackPro sees that it is going to delete the specified percentage of your files then it will automatically abort the profile and do nothing (if the run is unattended). If the profile is being run attended then a warning message will appear so that you can choose to abort or not. This setting is enabled by default and set at 100%, i.e. it will only abort/warn if all your files are going to be deleted. If you want to abort or be warned if any files are to be deleted then set the value to 0%. Otherwise, it will only abort/warn if the specified percentage (or more) of your files are going to be deleted.

 

Warn me (abort profile if unattended) if 100% or more of my source/left files are going to be deleted due to my settings : The first setting applies to all files no matter where they are, but this setting only applies to files that are in the source/left. For example: you have 10 files. 5 of them are both in the source/left and destination/right, 3 are only in the source/left and 2 are only in the destination/right. In this case 80% of your files are in the source/left (8 out of 10) and 70% (7 out of 10) are in the destination/right.

 

Warn me (abort profile if unattended) if 100% or more of my destination/right files are going to be deleted due to my settings : This is the same as the above setting except it applies to destination/right files.

 

Warn me (abort profile if unattended) if 100% or more of my source/left files are going to be updated due to my settings : This is similar to the "going to be deleted" setting, except it refers to existing files (on the source/left) that are going to be replaced with files on the destination/right. SyncBackPro looks at how many files are on both the source/left and destination/right and compares that to how many are being copied and/or moved (and so are going to replace an existing file). For example, if you have a file on both the source and destination, and it is going to be copied (or moved) to the destination, then that is a changed file. If you have a new file on the source, that does not yet exist on the destination, then that is not considered a changed file.

 

Warn me (abort profile if unattended) if 100% or more of my destination/right files are going to be updated due to my settings : This is the same as the above setting except it applies to destination/right files, i.e. files on the destination that will be replaced with files from the source.

 

With SyncBackPro you can also create scripts to stop a profile from continuing based on certain conditions. See the RunPreCopyCheck function and the example script PreCopyExample.vbs

 

 

All Content: 2BrightSparks Pte Ltd © 2003-2017