Network, Advanced

<< Click to Display Table of Contents >>

Navigation:  Using SyncBackPro > Expert Mode >

Network, Advanced

Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

 

Expert Mode: Network, Advanced Settings

 

You can only edit the values if you are using a UNC path or if the path contains variables (because it is impossible to know if it will be a UNC path or not until the profile is actually run).

 

Use this username and password before trying my current username and password: This setting defines which user account will be tried first to connect to the network. If enabled then SyncBackPro will try the supplied username and password before using your current username and password. By default SyncBackPro will use your current username and password before trying the ones supplied.

 

Do not try my current username and password: If enabled then SyncBackPro will not use your current username and password. Note that if you do not specify a username and password then it will use the current username and password even if this option is enabled. This is because that is the only option available, i.e. SyncBackPro must use something to connect and because nothing has been supplied it must use the current username and password.

 

Do not disconnect from the network after the profile has run: By default SyncBackPro will disconnect the network connection once the profile run has finished (it will not disconnect if it used an existing connection). If you change this setting so that SyncBackPro does not disconnect you should be aware that it may cause problems with the computer you are connecting to and/or from. Windows, and other operating systems, have limits on the number of network connections that they can have open at any one time. The limit could depend on a number of factors, e.g. technical or licensing. If the connection is not dropped then the limit may be reached and problems may occur, e.g. computers may not be able to connect to the remote server.

 

 

How SyncBackPro connects

 

When SyncBackPro connects to a UNC path it is done as follows:

 

1.It first checks to see if there is already a connection. If so:

a.If the Do not try my current username and password... option is not enabled and no username and password has been given (on the Network settings page) then it is done.

b.If the Do not disconnect... option is enabled it will see if the user is connected using the same username given on the Network settings page. If so it is done. If it's connected as a different user then it will disconnect so it can re-connect as that user.

2.If the Use this username and password... option is enabled, or the Do not try my current username and password... option is enabled, then it will attempt to connect using the username given on the Network settings page. If so it is done. If that fails, and the Do not try my current username and password... option is not enabled, then it will attempt to connect using the default username and password.

3.If the Use this username and password... option is not enabled then it will attempt to connect using the default username and password. If that fails then it will attempt to connect using the username given on the Network settings page.

 

 

 

All Content: 2BrightSparks Pte Ltd © 2003-2017