Log

<< Click to Display Table of Contents >>

Navigation:  Using SyncBackPro > Expert Mode >

Log

Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

 

Expert Mode: Log Settings

 

In SyncBack V4 the Email settings page referred to emailing of the log file. From V5 those settings have now been moved to this page, and the To Email page is for backup to email.

 

Display log after running a profile: Once a profile has finished, if this option is enabled then the log file will be displayed. There are some cases where the log file will never be displayed: if the media cannot be loaded, a pre-run pause was aborted by the user, the Run Before program fails, or if the source or destination cannot be connected to via the network.

 

warning

Note: when the profile is run via a schedule, and Windows Vista or newer is being used, then the log may not be displayed. This is due to security changes introduced in Windows Vista (basically when SyncBackPro is run from a schedule it cannot interact with the user interface).

 

Only when errors occur: If this option is enabled, then the log file will only be displayed if any errors occurred during the profile run, e.g. a file could not be copied.

 

Log the reason why files/folders on source/left are ignored/skipped: In some cases you may want to know why a file or folder was not copied from the source/left, for example. If this option is enabled then the log file will state the reason. Note that this is the reason why SyncBack did not wish to copy, move, or delete the file/folder. The file/folder may still have been copied if you told SyncBack to do so in the Differences window.

 

Log the reason why files/folders on destination/right are ignored/skipped: In some cases you may want to know why a file or folder was not copied from the destination/right, for example. If this option is enabled then the log file will state the reason. Note that this is the reason why SyncBack did not wish to copy, move, or delete the file/folder. The file/folder may still have been copied if you told SyncBack to do so in the Differences window.

 

Do not log skipped files or folders: If ticked then skipped files are not recorded in the log. A skipped file is one which has been skipped due to the settings on the Decisions - Files settings page or set to skipped via the Differences window. Note that skipped files will also be recorded in the ignored section of the log file if the Log the reason why files/folders on... setting has been enabled.

 

Do not log successfully copied, moved, or deleted files: If ticked then if a file is copied, moved, or deleted without any problems then it is not recorded in the log file. The main reason you may want to use this option is to reduce the size of the log file, e.g. thousands of files are likely to be copied and the log file is going to be emailed. Even if this option is selected it will still log renames or if a file is copied and a reboot is required to complete the copy.

 

Log the drive serial numbers (internal and external drives only): If ticked then the drives hardware serial number is recorded in the log file. The hardware serial number is not the same as the serial number given to a partition when you format it. Drive serial numbers cannot be changed and are stored by the drive hardware itself.

 

Log the S.M.A.R.T. information to check for possible drive failure (internal drives only): S.M.A.R.T. is an acronym for Self-Monitoring, Analysis, and Reporting Technology. If ticked a check is made, at the start of the profile run, to see if the drive may fail in the near future (or if it has already failed). If a problem is detected then the profile will continue running but the profile will be recorded as failed (the Result in the log will show Drive Failure/Warning and the log will show which drive failed and why). This feature only works if your computers BIOS supports the S.M.A.R.T. standard (most do), and it has also been enabled in your BIOS, and the drive supports S.M.A.R.T. (most do). Note that there are countless types and versions of BIOS's available so please refer to your BIOS manual for information on how to do this. Although using this may help detect impending drive failure, it is not a perfect technology. It should not be relied upon to always detect an impending drive failure. For detailed information see the Wiki page: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Self-Monitoring%2C_Analysis_and_Reporting_Technology

 

If a file cannot be copied because it was deleted before it could be copied then make it a warning and not a failure: In some cases you may get run failures because a file (usually temporary files) cannot be copied because they have been deleted (or moved) by something else before they could be copied. If you prefer to have these errors instead recorded as warnings (so they don't cause a profile run failure) then enable this option. Care should be taken when using this option as you are telling SyncBack that it should not treat an error as an error. Note that this option is ignored when running a profile as a restore, and it is also ignored when copying from email or single zip files, and is also ignored when copying to or from a script location.

 

Include special links in the log file (HTML only): If enabled then special links will be put into the log file (if HTML log files are being created). When clicked on in any web browser SyncBack will be executed and the appropriate action taken, e.g. open the profile for modification, exclude a file, exclude a folder, etc. Note that the links will only work on computers when SyncBack is installed and permission has been given to the web browser to open such links (this permission is usually asked for the first time one of the special links is clicked). If you want to reduce the size of the log files then you should disable this option.

 

If the user cannot be prompted to choose an action then:: On the Decisions - Files and Decisions - Folders settings pages you may have chosen to be prompted in some situations. However, if the profile is being run unattended, e.g. from a schedule, then you cannot be prompted. In this case the file is skipped and a warning is recorded in the log file. However, using this setting you can change what (if anything) is recorded in the log file. The file or folder will always be skipped, but if you are using an Intelligent Synchronization profile then you may want the file or folder to be skipped and the changes to be ignored.

 

Override the program wide setting for the number of log files to keep: Using the Log Settings window you can specify how many log files all profiles should keep. However, using this setting it is possible to override that program wide setting and set the number of log files to keep for this specific profile. Note that a value of zero or below is invalid and will be silently ignored.

 

Delete log files: Click the button to delete all the profiles log files. The button is disabled if the profile has no log files to delete. To delete the logs files of all profiles use the Log Settings window (via the Preferences main menu).

 

S.M.A.R.T. Test: Click the button to have all connected drives tested to see if a drive is predicted to fail. Note that some drives cannot be predicted to fail. An error message is only displayed if a drive is predicted to fail or if there is no way to predict failure of the drive.

 

 

Log File Sections

 

A log file has several sections:

 

Main Page: The main page gives a brief overview of what happened when the profile was run. It also gives a description of the source/left and destination/right.

 

Copied, deleted, renamed, and changed: This sections lists all the files and folders that were copied, deleted, renamed or changed.

 

Skipped: If a file or folder is skipped (i.e. its Action is set to skip) then it is logged here. A skipped file or folder is different from an ignored file or folder because you can still see the file or folder in the Differences window.

 

Warnings: All warnings are listed on this page. An example of a warning is when a file has been deleted before it can be copied (see the setting above).

 

Errors: When an error occurs a file or folder has failed to be copied, moved, etc.

 

Non-Critical Errors: Non-critical errors are when a task has been done and errors occurred but the task was still completed or a task could not be completed but alternatives or fall-backs were used to avoid failing the profile completely.

 

Ignored Reason: If you have enabled the option to record the reason why files/folders are ignored/skipped (see above) then this section of the help file lists why the file or folder was ignored, e.g. it was filtered out. An ignored file is one that does not appear in the Differences window, i.e. it is completely ignored and not treated as part of the profile.

 

 

All Content: 2BrightSparks Pte Ltd © 2003-2017