Exporting and Importing Profiles

<< Click to Display Table of Contents >>

Navigation:  Using SyncBackPro > Basic Operation >

Exporting and Importing Profiles

Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

 

Exporting and Importing Profiles

 

You can copy a profile from one installation of SyncBackPro to another by exporting and importing profiles. This also lets you make a backup of your profiles settings.

 

export-profiles

 

To export a profile: select the profile (or profiles) in the main window and select Profiles -> Export Profile from the main menu. Then choose where to save the profile. To export all your profiles press Ctrl-A then select Profiles -> Export Profile from the main menu. Note that unless your groups are expanded the profiles in them will not be selected.

 

To import a profile: select Profiles -> Import Profile from the main menu then choose the file(s) that contains the profile. You can import profiles from any current or previous version of SyncBackPro or SyncBack freeware. When importing profiles exported from versions of SyncBack freeware or SyncBackSE V3 then some directory selections may not be imported. It is recommend that group profiles are imported last to ensure the profiles in the group exist at the time the group is imported, otherwise the group may fail to import.

 

To import your SyncBackSE profiles: If you also have SyncBackSE installed, when SyncBackPro is run for the first time it will try to automatically import your SyncBackSE profiles. If this fails, or you decide at that time not to import the profiles, you can use this menu at a later date to try again.

 

To import your SyncBackLite profiles: If you also have SyncBackLite installed, when SyncBackPro is run for the first time it will try to automatically import your SyncBackLite profiles. If this fails, or you decide at that time not to import the profiles, you can use this menu at a later date to try again.

 

To import your SyncBackFree profiles: If you also have SyncBackFree installed, when SyncBackPro is run for the first time it will try to automatically import your SyncBackFree profiles. If this fails, or you decide at that time not to import the profiles, you can use this menu at a later date to try again.

 

Important

 

Shared Settings are exported and imported with profiles. If you import a profile that has shared settings, then the shared settings that are imported replace the existing shared settings.

 

Linked Cloud Accounts are not imported with profiles. If you import a profile that uses a linked cloud account then the profile will use your linked cloud account.

 

It is not recommended to import profiles exported from newer versions of SyncBackPro. For example, do not import SyncBackSE V8 profiles into SyncBackSE V7.

 

Profiles exported from old versions of SyncBackSE or SyncBack (V3 and before) will import incorrectly if the Windows XP/2003 non-Unicode locale is different. For example, if you import a V3 profile exported from XP where Chinese was the non-Unicode locale, then you must set your non-Unicode locale to Chinese.

 

Importing SyncBackSE/SyncBack freeware Version 3 Profiles

 

If you are upgrading from SyncBack freeware V3, or SyncBackSE V3, and wish to import your profiles, read our special guide to Importing V3 Profiles.

 

 

 

 

All Content: 2BrightSparks Pte Ltd © 2003-2017