Invalid Profiles

<< Click to Display Table of Contents >>

Navigation:  Using SyncBackPro > Technical Reference >

Invalid Profiles

Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

 

If you import or run a profile that has settings which cannot be used in your version of SyncBackPro, or is from a newer version of SyncBackPro, then you will receive one of the following error messages:

 

 The profile "profile name" contains settings that cannot be used with this version of SyncBackPro

 

 The profile "profile name" is from a newer version of SyncBackPro. It is unlikely that the profile will function correctly.

 

There are several possible settings that could cause this:

 

The profile is using Amazon S3, or a compatible service (e.g. Google Storage), and it has the option set to split files into chunks when uploading. This feature is no longer supported as the size restriction was greatly increased in SyncBackPro V6.1. Using that feature had a large performance impact, and with the size restriction effectively removed, the feature was removed. SyncBackPro has automatically disabled profiles using the "split files" setting to stop their accidental use. There are two options if you have split files in a bucket:

 

1.If you do not need the split files on the cloud (e.g. you have a local copy or another backup) then you could re-enable the profile (right-click on it in the main user interface and select Enable from the pop-up menu) and run it. SyncBackPro will automatically delete all the split files on the cloud, including any versions which are split. Depending on the configuration of your profile, it will then upload your local copies of those split files.

 

2.If you do not have another copy of the split files on the cloud (i.e. the cloud copies are the only copy) then you will need to restore the split files using an older version of SyncBackPro:

 

Download and install SyncBackPro V6.0. Install over your current version. Do not uninstall.

Re-enable the disabled cloud profiles that are using the "split files" setting (you can re-enable the profile(s) by right-clicking on them and selecting Enable from the pop-up menu).

Restore your split files by running the cloud profiles in Restore mode. From the Differences window you could then choose only the split files (which files are split depends upon their size, there is no way to tell from the Differences window if a file is split or not).

Now you have a local copy of your split files.

Download and install SyncBackPro V6.1 or newer. Install over the V6.0 version. Do not uninstall.

Depending on the configuration of your profile, when the new cloud profiles are run they will upload the files.

 

If you are unsure about what to do please contact 2BrightSparks Technical Support before you do anything.

 

The profile is from a newer version of SyncBackPro. It is not recommended that you import profiles from newer versions as the settings may not be compatible. SyncBackPro is backwards compatible with older versions, but it is not forwards compatible, i.e. it cannot know how future versions will store or name their settings. You should update your version of SyncBackPro (via Help -> Update Check in the main menu).

 

It is an Intelligent Synchronization profile and this version of SyncBack does not support Intelligent Synchronization.

 

It is a Fast Backup profile and this version of SyncBack does not support that.

 

You are using email (backup to or from) and this version of SyncBack does not support that.

 

You are burning to CD/DVD or creating an ISO and this version of SyncBack does not support that. sbpro-feature-16x16 The CD/DVD/ISO features cannot be used on Windows 8 or newer.

 

You are using the cloud and this version of SyncBack does not support that.

 

You are using scripting and this version of SyncBack does not support that.

 

You are using versioning and this version of SyncBack does not support that.

 

 

All Content: 2BrightSparks Pte Ltd © 2003-2017