First Run

<< Click to Display Table of Contents >>

Navigation:  Quick Start >

First Run

Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

sbpro8-header

 

Running a Profile for the First Time

 

SyncBackPro processes files very quickly. Therefore, if you are only backing up or synchronizing a few files, you may not see the progress bar at the bottom of the window.

 

warning

When a profile is running (or paused) it will have two icons shown to the left of it:

 

Click the Stop profile icon to stop the profile.

 

Click the main-running-pause icon to pause the profile. If the profile is already paused then it will instead show the Continue profile icon. Click it to continue the profile.

 

A progress bar will appear at the bottom of the window as the files are being processed:

 

main-window-run

 

As the profile is being processed, an icon will also appear in the System Tray located on the bottom right of your screen:

 

sbfree-tray

 

Animated SyncBackPro icon when a profile is running:

 

sbfree-tray-run

 

However, for it to appear in the System Tray, next to the clock, you may need to drag the icon to the position you want it to be. Alternatively, you may need to press the Customize... link and configure Windows to Show icons and notifications for SyncBack:

 

windows-config-tray

 

Depending on your settings, the Differences Window may appear after the initial scan takes place. The Differences Window shows what will happen to the files (whether they will be copied, deleted, or moved). Once you have reviewed the differences, click "Continue":

 

differences-window

 

 

warning

In this example the Differences Window shows 4 collisions. A "collision" is when a file in the source and destination differ but have the same name. In other words, the file is in both the source and destination but is modified in some way, perhaps by date, size etc.

 

differences-collision

 

A notification of collisions occur in the Differences window which appears by default when making a backup (note however there are circumstances when the Differences window does not appear, for example when the user has chosen not to show the window).

 

Collisions are shown in red in the Differences window to highlight there are going to be changes made when you continue the profile task. If the user views the Differences window carefully, the user has the option to make choices about whether they want to accept the changes SyncBackPro will make. The user has the option to bypass these choices by selecting a specific item in the Differences window with a right click. A different action may then be chosen.

 

After the profile has been processed the main window will look slightly different as the temporary stop and pause icons are no longer viewable.

 

You have now successfully created a simple backup profile. To create a Group Profile you'll need to create two profiles or more. You'll then have the opportunity of running these profiles as one. To find out more about this feature go to Creating a Group Profile.

 

 

 

 

All Content: 2BrightSparks Pte Ltd © 2003-2017