Creating a Group Profile

<< Click to Display Table of Contents >>

Navigation:  Using SyncBackPro > Basic Operation >

Creating a Group Profile

Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

 

Group Profiles

 

Once you have created two or more profiles you may group them together. Group profiles are collections of pointers to profiles. This allows you to run multiple profiles in one go instead of having to run each profile one after another. This page of SyncBackPro Help runs through the simple procedure you'll need to follow.

 

Creating a Group Profile

 

Click the New button from the Toolbar (or New from the main menu or right-click menu).

 

Enter a name for your profile and tick the This is a group profile checkbox:

 

group-1

 

Click the Next button. An information window informs you the Profile Setup window will open. You may click the Do not prompt me again if you do not wish to be notified of this in the future:

 

group-2

 

The Group Profile Setup window will open. The example below shows two profiles that can be grouped together. If you have many categories of profiles, there is an drop-down option to filter the categories that are listed. You can add and remove profiles from the group using the <, <<, >, and >> buttons. You can order the profiles in the group by selecting one or more profiles and using the up and down buttons on the right which are currently grayed out. Profiles in the group are executed in the order displayed (first to last):

 

group-3

 

After you click OK an informational window will ask whether you wish to perform a simulated run which provides a report on what will be copied or deleted without actually copying or deleting any files.

 

In the example below the Simulated Run option has been chosen (recommended), and the Differences Window shows the files that will be copied if an actual run is performed. Click Continue Simulation:

 

group-5

 

The main program window now shows when the Group Profile was last run, and also that the simulation was successful for both profiles that were run:

 

group-7

 

After you click "OK" the main program window will show the group. Note how the small box to the left of the "Group" profile can be clicked to show what profiles are in the group.

 

To alter the profiles in a group, select a Group Profile in the main window (you may also select 'Profiles' > 'Modify' from the main menu or right click and select 'Modify'). The 'Group Profile' window will then appear so you may redefine or change your group choices.

 

Modifying Group Profiles

 

Select your group profile and click the Modify button. The Profile Setup Window will open. You can change what profiles are associated with a group and the settings for the group. For help on the other settings see the Easy Mode and Expert Mode Configuration sections.

 

Under 'All available profiles' you can see the profiles that can be put into the group. There is a also a drop-down list so that you can filter the list to include all profiles, non-group profiles, or group profiles. You can add and remove profiles using the horizontal arrow buttons between the two lists, and can order the profiles using the up and down arrow buttons on the right of the window.

 

Run profiles in parallel: By default, the profiles in a group are run in the order you provide, from first to last. The next profile is started once the previous one finishes. You can choose to have all the profiles in a group run at the same time by enabling this option. It is not recommended you select this option because it will probably increase the time taken to run the profiles and overload your computer, drive, network, memory, etc. Note that if your group contains other groups then the group will be run serially and not in parallel.

 

Expert Options

 

Additional settings are available when choosing the "Expert" options from the Options drop down menu or by going to the Expert settings page:

 

group-options-expert  

 

 

 

 

All Content: 2BrightSparks Pte Ltd © 2003-2017