Copy/Delete, Folders

<< Click to Display Table of Contents >>

Navigation:  Using SyncBackPro > Expert Mode >

Copy/Delete, Folders

Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

 

Expert Mode: Copy/Delete, Folders Settings

 

Define how SyncBackPro will manage folders (directories).

 

Copy sub-directory and file security permissions (only valid for NTFS): If ticked then folder security is copied when directories are created and files are copied. If you want to detect changes to a file or folders security you must enable the option Compare file and folder security on the Compare Options->Security settings page. Note that you must copy what you compare, i.e. you cannot compare group security if you have not set it to copy group security. Although NTFS is mentioned explicitly, it is also valid for ReFS.

 

The following check-boxes define what security is copied and compared:

 

Owner: The owner of the file or folder.

 

Primary Group: The primary group of the file or folder.

 

Discretionary Access Control List (DACL): The discretionary access control list identifies the trustees that are allowed or denied access to a securable object.

 

System Access Control List (SACL): The system access control list enables administrators to log attempts to access a secured object. It is recommended that you leave this unchecked.

 

Copy sub-directory attributes and creation date (only when new directories are created): If ticked then folder attributes and the creation date are copied when new directories are created. Note that if the attributes or creation date are changed on a folder then the new settings are not copied over. When burning to CD/DVD, the creation and modification dates of folders are never kept.

 

Delete all the empty directories on destination/right: If ticked then all empty directories in the destination/right will be deleted at the end of the profile run (see notes below about the base folder). Note that a folder will not be deleted if it has files in it, including any hidden files or file versions. You can configure which files SyncBackPro can automatically delete to make a folder empty with the “If a folder cannot be deleted because it's not empty…” setting below. Using this option is not recommended. The preferred, and quicker, method of deleting empty folders is via the Decisions settings page.

 

Do not delete the empty directories if the profile run fails: By default empty folders are not deleted if the profile run was not a success.

 

Delete all the empty directories on source/left: If ticked then all empty directories in the source/left will be deleted at the end of the profile run (see notes below about the base folder). Note that a folder will not be deleted if it has files in it, including any hidden files or file versions. You can configure which files SyncBackPro can automatically delete to make a folder empty with the “If a folder cannot be deleted because it's not empty…” setting below.

 

Do not delete the empty directories if the profile run fails: By default empty folders are not deleted in the profile run was not a success.

 

When the desktop.ini file (used by Explorer) is copied configure the folder it is copied to to use it: The desktop.ini file is a special file created and managed by Windows File Explorer. It helps define what a folder looks like when viewed in Windows File Explorer. It is only used if the folders attributes are set correctly. You can tell SyncBackPro to automatically set the correct folder attributes if a desktop.ini file is copied to it. If you have desktop.ini filtered out, then desktop.ini is shown in yellow in the filters window. Note that the desktop.ini file does not entirely define the appearance of a folder in Windows File Explorer.

 

If a folder cannot be deleted because it's not empty…: Only empty folders can be deleted. Windows File Explorer often creates special hidden files in folders that contain settings related to that folder but contain no user created information. This setting defines which files can be deleted to make a folder empty. By default the thumbs.db and desktop.ini files will be deleted, along with temporary SyncBackPro files. Note these files are only deleted if they are the only files in the folder. Wildcards can be used, e.g. *.tmp

 

 

Delete all the empty directories and the base folder

 

When the option to delete all the empty directories is enabled then SyncBackPro may or may not delete the base folder. This depends on two factors:

 

1.If the base folder is a junction or reparse point then the base folder will not be deleted.

2.If the option to automatically create the base folders is not enabled, then the base folder will not be deleted.

 

So if the base folder is empty, and is not a junction or reparse point, and the option to automatically create the base folders is enabled, then the base folder will be deleted.

 

 

 

All Content: 2BrightSparks Pte Ltd © 2003-2017