Queue

<< Click to Display Table of Contents >>

Navigation:  Using SyncBackPro > Basic Operation >

Queue

Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

 

SyncBack can run profiles in parallel, i.e. you can have more than one profile running at the same time. This is the default behaviour. When you run a profile it is run immediately without waiting for any currently running profiles to complete. You can also create groups to run profiles serially, i.e. you can create a group profile to run a profile and wait for it to finish before running the next profile in the group.

 

However, sometimes you may want to run a profile only when no other profiles are running. This may be because of resource constraints, e.g. low memory, low bandwidth, etc., or simply that you want a currently running profile to complete before starting a new one. To achieve this SyncBack has a queue. Profiles in the queue are only run when no other profiles are running and profiles in the queue are run in a first-in-first-out (FIFO) order. For example, if you add profile A then profile B then profile C to the queue then SyncBack will run them in the order they were added (A, B, then C). You can add a profile multiple times to the queue and remove a profile from the queue but you cannot change the order of the profiles in the queue. Remember that you can create a group profile if you want finer control over the order of profiles. The queue is a simple ad-hoc way to allow profiles to be run serially.

 

To add a profile to the queue simply select it in the main window and press Ctrl-Q. Alternatively you can select Queue -> Queue profile from the pop-up menu or Task -> Queue profile from the main menu. This will add the selected profile(s) to the queue and run them attended, i.e. you will be prompted if required. If you want them to run unattended, i.e. no prompting, then choose Queue profile (run unattended) from the menu.

 

You can see which profiles are in the queue by looking at the Stop column in the main window. If a profile is in the queue an icon will be shown in that column for the profile. You can click this icon to remove the profile from the queue. Note that there is no way to review or change the order the profiles in the queue will run in. Remember that if you want more control over the order it is recommended that a group profile be used instead.

 

You can remove a profile from the queue by selecting it in the main window and selecting Queue -> Remove profile from queue from the pop-up menu or Task -> Remove profile from queue from the main menu. You can also click  on the queue icon shown in the Stop column in the main window. Note that it will remove all instances of the selected profile(s) from the queue (remember you can add the same profile to the queue more than once). For example, if the queue has profiles A, B, C, B, A in it and you remove profile B then the queue will become A, C, A.

 

You can also remove all profiles from the queue. To do that select Queue -> Clear queue from the pop-up menu or Task -> Clear queue from the main menu. This will clear the queue but not stop any profile that is currently running and was taken from the queue. If you want to stop all the running profiles, and clear the queue, press Ctrl-Alt-S, or select Profiles->Stop all profiles from the main menu, or right-click on the SyncBack tray icon and select Stop all profiles from the pop-up menu.

 

 

All Content: 2BrightSparks Pte Ltd © 2003-2017