Why Use DeleteOnClick?

<< Click to Display Table of Contents >>

Navigation:  DeleteOnClick >

Why Use DeleteOnClick?

Previous pageReturn to chapter overviewNext page

doc-header

 

Deleting Files Using Windows

 

When you delete a file or folder in Windows, it is usually moved to the Recycle Bin (Trash). When the Recycle Bin is emptied, the data you have deleted is not actually removed from your computer. Instead, Windows makes the space occupied by the file available for writing. In other words, every file you delete using Windows is potentially recoverable in the short term. If you create a new file after deleting in Windows, or save a changed file, it may write over the 'deleted' file's space, thus destroying it permanently. Likewise, defragmenting will possibly overwrite the deleted files.  

 

DeleteOnClick, however, completely deletes the file in just one click, and the data becomes unrecoverable. For this reason, you must use the program carefully. Once a file is 'Securely Deleted', no one can undelete it.

 

DeleteOnClick as part of OnClick Utilities ensure files are renamed to a random filename before being deleted.

 

Wiping free disk space helps your computer to run better and faster.

 

DeleteOnClick follows the U.S. DOD 5220.22-M secure file deletion standard

 

Uses for DeleteOnClick

 

There are many reasons why you may wish to securely delete your data. For example, you may have downloaded a file over the Internet which contains confidential or sensitive information. Once you have copied the appropriate information into the special area on your computer where you keep all your secure details (passwords, financial records, software license keys etc.), you'll need to securely delete the original zip file. Using DeleteOnClick will ensure no one can recover the original downloaded zip file.

 

IMPORTANT

 

note

Files deleted using DeleteOnClick are permanently erased and can never be recovered, including the use of specialist data recovery programs.

 

Perhaps you've been working on a new document on your laptop. You arrive home and copy the files onto your computer. You can then securely delete the original files from your laptop. DeleteOnClick ensures your files are completely erased, and that nobody can retrieve the files on your laptop again.

 

 

 

All Content: 2BrightSparks Pte Ltd © 2003-2017