Before posting, and to avoid disappointment, please read the following:

  • This forum is not for 2BrightSparks to provide technical support. It's primarily for users to help other users. Do not expect 2BrightSparks to answer any question posted to this forum.
  • If you find a bug in any of our software, please submit a support ticket. It does not matter if you are using our freeware, a beta version or you haven't yet purchased the software. We want to know about any and all bugs so we can fix them as soon as possible. We usually need more information and details from you to reproduce bugs and that is better done via a support ticket and not this forum.

Starting sync when device is discovered on the network

For technical support visit http://support.2brightsparks.com/
Post Reply
roni1
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 8:53 am

Starting sync when device is discovered on the network

Post by roni1 »

Hey!

I was wondering if there is a way to start syncing automatically once a device is discovered on a local network path (laptop connects to Wi-Fi)?

Cheers,
Roni
mmullins_98
Advanced
Advanced
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2019 11:40 am

Re: Starting sync when device is discovered on the network

Post by mmullins_98 »

I would suggest initiating the sync on the device that connects. If the device connects upon booting then you might run syncback in a startup script on the device after some delay.
roni1
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2020 8:53 am

Re: Starting sync when device is discovered on the network

Post by roni1 »

Clarifying: the device is a MacBook Pro, the objective is to back it up every time I get home and connect to my Wi-Fi Network.

Source is the Mac on the network [\\MacBook-Pro\Macintosh HD\Users\] Destination is My Windows PC with SPB installed.
Swapna
2BrightSparks Staff
2BrightSparks Staff
Posts: 954
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:22 am

Re: Starting sync when device is discovered on the network

Post by Swapna »

Hi,

Are you using SyncBackPro with SyncBack Touch to backup files from Mac to Windows PC?

If yes, there is an option in SyncBack Touch to run a profile automatically when the device running SyncBack Touch is found on the local network, which can be enabled from: Modify profile > Expert > SyncBack Touch > tick the option 'Run this profile when SyncBack Touch starts on the device'.

For this option to work, SyncBackPro sends a broadcast on the UDP port 24671 to discover the Touch installations. If the device is found on your local network then the profile runs automatically. In addition, SyncBack Touch uses TCP port 8080 for all communication with SyncBackPro. Therefore, you need to ensure that the ports 8080 and 24671 are not blocked by your firewall.

Thank you.
Post Reply