Shared Profile

For technical support visit http://support.2brightsparks.com/
Post Reply
QuadDuo
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 8:44 pm

Shared Profile

Post by QuadDuo » Fri Nov 02, 2018 6:22 pm

We have set up SyncBackPro on a server running a rather complex sync job that is initiated manually. Is it possible to set up SyncBackPro so that the profile loads automatically for whomever is logged into the server. RIght now it only appears under my account and if someone else logs in and starts SyncBackPro there is no configured profile there for them.

cliffhanger
Expert
Expert
Posts: 847
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 5:59 pm

Re: Shared Profile

Post by cliffhanger » Tue Nov 06, 2018 11:51 am

You need to configure the settings for each user-config (that is, the program settings for each user) to access a shared location (for example, the SB program folder or a dedicated folder you set up beforehand and configure each user to use, but whichever location you choose, all users must have full write privileges to this location) where you make arrangements to store that profile.

You then Export (right-click profile > Export) the current profile (to the desktop, or somewhere else handy) as an .SPS file, delete that profile manually in SB's GUI *, make sure the config settings for the user performing this changeover are set to store profiles in a shared location (as above) and re-Import the profile's .SPS backup 'as' that user. This should make the re-Imported profile be stored in the chosen 'shared' location, and you can now configure any remaining users to read the profile details / write any edits from/to the same shared location > > >

You (or the user concerned) will need to log on to Windows 'as' each current user and open the Preferences > Options > Settings for profile storage and make sure each user is configured to read/write to the same location as the others. This KB article has useful background, especially about changing the logging configuration so that all users can (eventually) see all logs them (assuming you want that)


* Do not skip the step where you delete the profile after Export / before re-Import or you may end up with the same profile stored twice (in different locations, but both readable by SB) so 'which copy will run' will be indeterminate. You need to make sure there is only one copy of the profile 'loaded' (not counting .SPS backup copies) on each machine.

Post Reply