Move a file to destination's $BVS$ if file not exists on source

For technical support visit http://support.2brightsparks.com/
aria
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2018 12:19 pm

Move a file to destination's $BVS$ if file not exists on source

Postby aria » Tue Mar 27, 2018 12:41 pm

Dear,

We use versioning (one folder $SBV$ in each folder). Sometimes, we remove files. We want to keep these old files in save folder. So actually, we select "don't do anything" if file exist in destination but not in source. But in the save folder, it start to be a mess. Do you think it's possible to add a "move to versioning folder" if file does not exist anymore in source ? Or is there a way to keep a clean save folder AND keep the old files in the save versioning folder (or anywhere else but the clean save folder) ?

Thanks,
Best regard,

cliffhanger
Expert
Expert
Posts: 798
Joined: Tue May 31, 2011 5:59 pm

Re: Move a file to destination's $BVS$ if file not exists on source

Postby cliffhanger » Thu Mar 29, 2018 3:04 pm

Hi, if you have Versioning set up (enabled) on the profile's Destination, then any file on the Destination that would ordinarily be deleted by action of the profile itself (e.g. because profile is set up as a Mirror & a copy does not now exist on Source) will be Versioned (moved to relevant $SBV$ folder) on the Destination anyway. This is normal behavior regarding Modifications and Deletions by actions of the profile on the side(s) where you have Versioning enabled.

How long such Versioned files are retained (after moving to $SBV$ folder) will depend on the retention settings you set up for Versions. Note that you cannot set different limits for deletions and modifications, nor can you save only deletions (or only modifications) - it is both or neither.

aria
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2018 12:19 pm

Re: Move a file to destination's $BVS$ if file not exists on source

Postby aria » Fri Mar 30, 2018 9:02 am

Okay, thinks. Before, when source file was deleted, the rule was to do nothing on destination folder. I thought (wrongly) that the deleted file in destination will not be moved to the $BVS$.

Thank again,


Return to “SyncBackSE (commercial)”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest