Enable Symbolic links, Hard Links, Junction Points?

For technical support visit http://support.2brightsparks.com/
pstein
Knowledgeable
Knowledgeable
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 9:41 am

Enable Symbolic links, Hard Links, Junction Points?

Postby pstein » Sun Apr 30, 2017 7:30 am

I wanted to sync two big directory trees which conatin a few symbolic links.

SyncBack failed with the notification that "symbolic links" are not enabled.

How can I enable them for a Profile resp. for all Profiles?

Are such Symbolic Links (and similarly Hard Links, Juncion Points) just copied as a single link (file) or is the content of these links
fully copied (as a duplicate)?

Peter

Swapna
2BrightSparks Staff
2BrightSparks Staff
Posts: 489
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:22 am

Re: Enable Symbolic links, Hard Links, Junction Points?

Postby Swapna » Mon May 01, 2017 10:07 am

Hi,

Can you please export your profile configuration and send it to support@2brightsparks.com for further investigation.

Thank you.

pstein
Knowledgeable
Knowledgeable
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 9:41 am

Re: Enable Symbolic links, Hard Links, Junction Points?

Postby pstein » Sat May 06, 2017 9:47 am

I cannot believe that it is necessary to pass the full profile to you.

Is there really no easy option switch "enabe Symbolic links" copies?

Maybe there is a logfile entry which shows why the copy operation recognizes the target as "dirty"?

Swapna
2BrightSparks Staff
2BrightSparks Staff
Posts: 489
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:22 am

Re: Enable Symbolic links, Hard Links, Junction Points?

Postby Swapna » Sun May 07, 2017 11:53 am

Hi,

Please check if the option ‘Ignore NTFS junction points (reparse points)’ is ticked under:

Modify > Expert > Compare Options > Attributes settings page?

If so, please un-tick that option and retry the profile run.

I would suggest you to read “Configuration Settings in SyncBackSE & SyncBackPro that use file links” section of this article for more details:

https://www.2brightsparks.com/resources ... links.html

Thank you.

pstein
Knowledgeable
Knowledgeable
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Aug 11, 2006 9:41 am

Re: Enable Symbolic links, Hard Links, Junction Points?

Postby pstein » Mon May 08, 2017 8:18 am

There is no such option like "Ignore NTFS junction points (reparse points)".

At least not in (my) v6-5.49.0

See attached snapshot:
Compare Options - Attributes .png
Compare Options - Attributes .png (61.24 KiB) Viewed 1549 times


When I tick "Reparse point" I got still the same error.

So is there another way to enable them?

Peter

Swapna
2BrightSparks Staff
2BrightSparks Staff
Posts: 489
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2015 6:22 am

Re: Enable Symbolic links, Hard Links, Junction Points?

Postby Swapna » Tue May 09, 2017 4:22 am

Hi,

Please note that your version of SyncBackSE V6 is outdated and support for SyncBackSE/Pro prior to version 7 has officially ceased. However, I can provide some information which may be useful to you.

In SyncBack V6 the setting "Ignore NTFS junction points (reparse points)" is available under Expert > Copy/Delete > Folders settings page, so please un-tick that option. You can read this KB article for more details:

http://support.2brightsparks.com/knowle ... rse-points

Also, I would suggest you to turn-off the option "Reparse point (NTFS only)" from Compare Options > Attribute settings page (please read the help file for more details on what this option does).

Are such Symbolic Links (and similarly Hard Links, Junction Points) just copied as a single link (file) or is the content of these links fully copied (as a duplicate)?


If the option under Expert mode > Copy/Delete > Advanced > "Copy symbolic links as-is instead of copying the file the link points to" is enabled, and if a symbolic link file is being copied, then instead of copying the file the link points to it copies the link. I would suggest you to read the help file for more details about this option. With Copy/Delete > Advanced settings page opened, press F1 to open the contextual help.

If you wish to upgrade to either SyncBackSE V7 or Pro V7 please visit the 2BrightSparks Upgrade Store where you will need to enter your serial number into the text field and click on "Validate" button:

http://www.2brightsparks.com/store/upgradestore.php

Then follow the onscreen prompts to pay for your upgrade.

Thank you.


Return to “SyncBackSE (commercial)”



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest